Review of Bee’s Wrap as an alternative to plastic

We were lucky enough to be bought some Bee’s Wrap products from a lovely friend for Christmas. They are just about hitting the U.K. market now after having, it would seem, some success in America. And I figured a review of them might be quite useful for folks who may want to switch their plastic sandwich bag habit. It might, also, be useful for those just wanting to find alternative to foil or having lots of containers in their fridges and cannot decide whether these are worth the price. Anyway, continue reading if this might be you…

Now, anyone who knows me very well knows I love bees. I have a not-so-secret wish of one day either owning my own bee hive or (and perhaps more realistically) joining in with a group of bee keepers. I love how bees work in community. I love how they look. I love that they are the symbol of Manchester from where a lot of my family comes from (look out for them on the bins around Manchester if you ever visit there). They even made it onto our wedding spoons because I loved them so much (and my fella says he is from Manchester).

Anyhow, anything with bees is likely to be a big hit with me. And to a large extent this has been a big hit. However, it is not just bees that contribute to these alternative wraps. As the website says, this is an infusion of “organic cotton with beeswax, organic jojoba oil, and tree resin” which “a washable, reusable, and compostable alternative to plastic wrap.” (BeesWrap, n.d. ). They are, as far as I can see after several months of use, well crafted and designed carefully in order to last a long time.

Our lovely friend bought us a pack that was designed for wrapping bread in. And then a pack that contained three different sizes. And below is my review of each of them.

bees wrap bread

 

Bread pack

I actually am surprised to say I really liked this. We do have a bread bin so currently try to keep our bread as long as possible in this. However, I found by placing the bread in the bees wax first kept it actually a little longer (maybe an extra day or two) than just placing the bread inside the bread bin (with or without it’s paper packaging).

One concern I had  with the wraps at first was the smell. When any of them (big or small) first come out of the packet they do smell quite strongly (I guess you can imagine why when you look at the list of ingredients). Indeed, I was worried it would transfer over to the bread. I am pleased to say it does not. Overall I really like the bread one – and fits what I would consider a Medium sized loaf comfortably (truly large ones would struggle). The wax wrap bends to your hands easily – becoming less stiff over use. If you can accept that this is a high end purchase it can be a useful way of keeping bread longer. I suspect if you didn’t own a bread bin this would be invaluable.

Our pack of Three different sizes (including a sandwich carrying size)

Our pack of three different sizes have helped keep fresh a variety of foods. We have used the sandwich one a number of times when we haven’t wanted to take a full on lunch box. It does the job very well – keeping the sandwich fresh with no transference of the smell. It bends to hands easily. I would say you would struggle to add in more than one round of sandwiches (size wise) but then you could use a larger size if you are after a bigger lunch.

The others have been used to wrap over the tops of dishes that are being kept in the fridge when we might typically use foil. They have also been used over vegetables and fruit that have been cut in half and do typically keep the vegetables and fruit that little bit longer than if they had been wrapped in foil (or at least that is how it seems in our house). We have also wrapped our cheese in it and again it seems to manage well. I can’t decide if the colours (like the one wrapped in purple below) remind you that you have the food still to use up though, leading to less waste, rather than they are more affective than foil, but either way we seem to have less waste. This can only be a good thing.

image1

 

Overall I would really recommend this set of three as a purchase, even more than the bread one (unless you don’t have a bread bin). These have many uses. Also, I can see they might last longer than the recommended year (it would depends on the durance of its malleability, I guess).  I love how easy they are to clean (wipe down with coolish washing up water and leave to dry) and then fold away.

I can’t test out their compostability until a lot later (if I have my way 1+ years away) but like the idea of them being compost friendly.

Overall

These don’t come cheap but may be worth the investment. This is worth it if you can see it in terms of replacing buying foil (for a number of things) and cling film (for a lot of things) and potentially sandwich bags. They are starting to appear in some places in the U.K. and are available online in the U.K. such as thewisehouse (see below). I would recommend them so long as you aren’t vegan (sorry folks) and recognise that there is a distinct smell on arrival that goes with use. Hope this has been useful for folks – and happy purchasing.

References

Bees Wrap. (n.d). OUR STORY. Bee’s Wrap. Retrieved 25 March 2017, from https://www.beeswrap.com/pages/about-us

U.K. Online purchase 

The Wisehouse https://www.thewisehouse.co.uk/ourshop/cat_953692-BEES-WRAP-NATURAL-FOOD-WRAP.html  – U.K. online source to buy them ranging from 9-15 pounds.

Leave a Reply

