Kitchen Cleaning – re-using plastic and reducing landfill

So this blog post is really a delight to write as this is one of those things that saves you money, doesn’t take long and once you have done it once, won’t be able to work out why you haven’t been doing this for ages.

Warning though – this is a plastic reducing solution (at the moment). Currently I have not sourced plastic free lid for the vinegar. Also the spray bottle is plastic but it is being reused – which hopefully lowers the number ending up in landfill long-term. 

So I have been using this home-made refill spray for just over a week around my kitchen and love it – I have joked to my husband that maybe this is what is in the Ecover version I usually buy (it isn’t but the smell isn’t that different and the effect…well it hasn’t been noticed as being any different).

image1 (19)
This is just the Ecover Bottle filled with the solution 

So what is in it?

We used around 0.5cm of Vinegar measuring from the bottom of the spray bottle upwards. We used Malt Vinegar – but white vinegar works and seems to be more often recommended, but I figured Vinegar to a large extent is vinegar.

To this we added lemon (we are still using up our plastic lid lemon juice but long term plan to use fresh lemons) and added another 1cm-1.5cm worth of lemon (we wanted it to overpower the smell of Vinegar – which it has done – so now when we spray it smells of lemon).

Now at this point you need to move to the sink – trust me. We added 2-3 tablespoons of Bi-carb which then produced a foam, very akin to the volcanoes you produce at school in science where it just over-flowers gently (unlike a real volcano).

It will calm down, just give it a minute. Once it does you simply add water. Put the spray top back on and give it a (gentle) shake. After a week of use our kitchen is clean . This spray cuts through grease and is so much cheaper.

I would recommend folks just giving this one a try when your next kitchen spray runs out. Equally Bi-carb can be used to clean off most things in the kitchen. You can make it into a very effective paste to get rid of really tough stains.

Do you make home-made cleaning products? 

I would love for other folks to recommend home-made simple cleaning products – do you have any recommendations? Please add a comment below – sharing information is all what this blog is about.

 

4 comments

  1. Quite a long comment from me I fear! I’ve been really inspired by your plastic free and reducing suggestions! So I have lots of exciting shopping (and a frustrated post man!).
    I’ve used your recipe for kitchen cleaner to replace our less environmentally friendly ones as they run out. It’s also great for cleaning the bathroom. My mum was sceptical that having the vinegar and bicarb in the same bottle would mean they react too fast and neutralise each other but she used the spray to clean an outside wall and was very impressed.
    In the south we have an issue with limescale, I’ve found bicarb paste washed off with the spray is really good. Also for shiny metal bits (taps) some lemon juice, I use the inside of a squeezed lemon, washed off with the spray works well. The spray polished off with newspaper cleans mirrors and windows, I thought the bicarb might prevent the chemical process but it works as well as straight vinegar.
    Another finding, Holland and Barrett have glass and metal bottles which you can fill with a range of oils and vinegars. You get a 25% reduction when you bring the bottle back to refill. The downside is they’re quite pricey and definitely not cleaning vinegar but they’d be good for salads and cooking. Also the label is likely to be plastic but I’m sure they would let you write your own.
    I’m starting to make my own yoghurt using an Easiyo kit, all of the equipment is plastic but it will last a long time and save a lot of yoghurt pots being thrown out, they’re not recycled in Reading. A plastic reducing option as its definitely not plastic free. I hope to find a similar and less plastic alternative.
    Keep up the great work! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

